Posted on

A Temporary Life

In spite of my attorney assuring me that I can go ahead and plant my gardens this summer, I am still reluctant to go through a lot of work and trouble in case I am asked to leave.  Also, I am unable to do as much as I used to and last year was too ill to work in the garden at all which resulted in a three foot high overgrowth in the beds and pathways this year.  Very discouraging.  But, I did go ahead and weed the mailbox garden and have had the front lawn mowed weekly in order to keep the neighbors from mobbing my house with pitchforks and torches.

So my brother-in-law gave me a few vegetable starts on our last visit and I couldn’t bear to see them just sit in their little pots and die unattended so my practical sister suggested I do container gardening this year.  That way, if I have to move, they can go with me.  It also turned out to be much easier on my poor body.  I got to sit in a chair and plant on a little table top and my son helped me move the containers (one half-barrel, two Earth Boxes, two tree size nursery pots and two large planter pots) over to the side of the house right next to the water faucet so I won’t have to walk far to take care of them!  With any luck, I’ll be able to harvest a small amount of fresh tomatoes, cucumbers, six assorted sweet and hot pepper plants, a couple of broccoli and two cabbages, a mini-hubbard squash and a pumpkin.  I can add another container with some lettuce, radishes and green onions (I always have seed).  At least I won’t feel left out even though it is nowhere near what I usually plant each year.

There are temporary relationships, temporary jobs, temporary “situations”.  Practically everything in life is temporary, including life itself!  But, the satisfaction I will get from being at least a little self-sufficient will stick with me for a very long time.

About agelimits99

Mother, grandmother, greatgrandmother, retired/disabled, at the mercy of the economy, divorced and at a crossroads in my life. Ouch! Something has to change.

Leave a Reply

